European Master’s Programme on Society, Science and Technology

Are you interested in contemporary relations of science, innovation and society? Are you intrigued by the politics of technology? Do you want to develop the critical and generic skills required to tackle some of the most pressing issues currently engaging governments, businesses and social movements? Then the European Master’s Programme on Society, Science and Technology (ESST) might be just what you’re looking for. An interdisciplinary approach is at the heart of the ESST Programme enabling you to creatively draw upon and combine resources from different disciplines. With 13 participating universities across Europe you have the opportunity to initiate your studies at one university and then follow a specialisation and write your thesis at another.

You can commence your ESST studies by reading a common syllabus at any of the following universities:

Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain (Spanish, one year)
IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark (English, two years)
Maastricht University, the Netherlands (English, one year)
NKUA/NTUA, Athens, Greece (English, one year)
Strasbourg University, France (French, two years)
University of Oslo, Norway (Norwegian, one year)

Thereafter you can complete your studies by choosing a specialisation and writing your thesis at the same university or any other within the ESST Programme. In addition to the universities listed above the others offering a specialisation are:

  • Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • University of Namur, Belgium
  • Tallin University of Technology, Estonia
  • University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
  • Lund University, Sweden


Three new specializations for the academic year 16/17:
Athens: Law, Science and Technology
Klagenfurt: Governance, Innovation and Sustainability
Lund: Sustainability Transitions and the Geography of Innovation